“The money dance, dollar dance, or apron dance is an event at some wedding receptions in various cultures. During a money dance, male guests pay to dance briefly with the bride, and sometimes female guests pay to dance with the groom. The custom originated in Poland in the early 1900s in immigrant neighborhoods.

Sometimes guests are told that the money will be used for the bride and groom’s honeymoon or to give them a little extra cash with which to set up housekeeping.

[wikipedia]

We did this honeymoon / money dance at our reception.  It was fun!  Our DJs didn’t play typical slow songs during our honeymoon / money dance but they played fun, non-explicit, music. The kids loved it.. they danced in between Patrick and myself. It was cute!

At a couple of weddings I have been to, there would be a person (usually a bridesmaid and/or groomsmen) standing near the dance floor passing out pins to the guests to pin the cash onto the bride and groom’s clothing.  I didn’t really want anyone to be doing this at the reception so I came up with an idea of having the pins on each table.  However, I didn’t want to just place a box of pins on the tables so I came up with this:

I purchased the purple pin cushions at JoAnn’s Fabric Craft and on Ebay,  and the mini clay pots and pins from Michaels. We printed the tags on the same paper we used for all our stationary.

They sat cutely with the muslin bags on our tables like so:

above photo by: Bauman Photographers

My husband now understands why I was obsessed with the little details of the wedding.

